YSS Shock Absorber Review for Honda Wave 125

The Honda Wave 125 rear shock absorber always rated as soft by most of the user. Actually it is design for comfort but some how Malaysia road is so bumpy and result the absorber worn out quicker. I have seen most of the user has change to aftermarket absorber for better

performance. My absorber set was just passed 100,000km. I always have a pillion on board and recently I just feel like riding horse on a bumpy road. When exiting corner the bike will swing to the opposite direction. Due to safety reason it should be replace.

I did some online research and survey at spare parts shop. Most user recommend brand Gazi, Showa and YSS. The former two are not easily to find and many imitations in market. Other unnamed brand is range from RM70 to RM100. Some even come with gas canister which look kind high tech but the dealer told me it is more for cosmetic rather than performance. The best option left is YSS which has wide range of models and inexpensive. I google and found JuniorZ is carrying YSS dealership in Malaysia. I make a trip to his store at Batu Caves.

The YSS absorber is made in Thailand and exported to many countries include Japan, Europe, Australia and America. I believe it has OEM quality in this industry. The model for my bike has few colour variants; gold/black spring, gold/red spring, blue/white spring and full chrome. The gold and red spring suit my bike most.

First impression of YSS absorber is – HEAVY. It is about 4kg compare with my existing 3kg each. It doesn’t feel cheap quality and the soldering is very well and neat. The spring is very high quality too with hard plastic cover. The best thing of this absorber is adjustable for different weight load. It has 3 levels setup from 60-160kg, 160-220kg and 220kg up. But you need some force to adjust it since it is very tight. The absorber design is up-side-down type which gives your bike more racing look. :)

After mounted with YSS rear absorber immediate I feel my bike has gain weight. I need to adapt the new weight to put on double-stand. The bike acceleration is a little affected because of the weight but it is OK since my bike got good torque. The riding is smooth and comfort, even with pillion at back. I still maintain the 60-160kg setup since both person weight is in that range. When doing cornering alone, it is tight and hard. I can make a 80km/h curve confidently. Overall I am very satisfied with the ‘upgrade’ and it only cost me RM120.

22 thoughts on “YSS Shock Absorber Review for Honda Wave 125

  1. hello sir,

    can i have the junior z phone number
    i want to buy YSS for suzuki belang R

    kindly help me

    thanks you
    my mail is gunshead yaho com

  2. ok. I called Roy and talked to him over the phone. I am in Johor Bahru.
    I also visited his website blog.

    I got such long list of purchasing

    Belang R
    lagenda
    c70
    ex5

  3. i ask u , i think i saw somewhere u said ur honda wave 125 u get 50Km per litre.

    can i verify with u

    1. at what speed constant u achieve that?
    2. what brand petrol and ron?
    3. what is ur body weight?

    i have yamaha lagenda 110cc only can get 47km/l at 90km/h

    1. 1. I ride average 80km/h to get 50km per liter using Ron98. It is proven Wave125 is fuel saver than Lagenda 110c. It even better than my EX5 and Wave100. But Wave125 doesn’t have good top speed. Now I travel 150km per day on highway thus I seldom keep my fuel monitoring. I will do it again since now using Ron95 mostly.
      2. Petronas and Shell both are good, those days in Ron98. Now I found only Shell has good quality fuel.
      3. I am 55kg, pretty light…

      You result with Lagenda is very good.

  4. i already sent email to JuniorZ Roy for YSS
    and I also saw one shop in johor bahru fix and part = RM110
    YSS like yours exactly for yamaha lagenda.

    and by the way, lagenda tested with 60km/h i got 55km per litre

    anyway, i am happy with lagenda cause it gives 47km per litre for 90km/h

    i will try to get photos of the lagenda and then fixed YSS and show to you.

    email me gunshead@yahoo.com and then i attach files

    I fix on monday and then send wash and polish on monday night in johor bahru 24*7 car was centre And teusday take photos lor

  5. hello ricklee,

    i did pasang YSS for RM110
    chrome color
    warranty = 2 months

    RM110 full pasang siap

    like u said it is true in the beginning the YSS is extremely keras.

    i fixed 280mm and it looks nice with chrome color suitable for my silver color bike yamaha lagenda

  6. riki lee

    i have fixed YSS on yamaha lagenda
    and
    suzuki belang R YSS with gas emulsion reservoir

    now going to fix on honda c70

  7. Hi,

    I’m considering to change my suspension on my wave 125X.

    I’m considering the YSS, and the Racing Boy :

    http://racingboy.com.my/details.asp?prod_id=4171&page=1

    The YSS look good, especially for the price, but i’m a bit afraid of that :

    The welding is very light, and the shop told me he had some (just a few) customers, where the suspension broke here…

    The RB are heavier, but look stronger, and are very hard.

    The shop told me that the YSS will worn out quicker, but maybe the RB also, as this brand do parts for races, usually, in race, you need very good parts, but for a short time only :-/

    And finally, the price is not the same, YSS rm120, RB rm20….

    I’m confused.

    If you have some advices, i’m interested.

    Thanks.

    Alex.

    1. Alex,

      The welding on YSS actually is very heavy-duty and neat. Perhaps it look fragile from the photo itself :)
      I never see the Racing Boy. It would be a better choice if no welding on the steel, I’m not sure whether is that possible or it will be too costly.
      Actually the model I bought is for street use, not the YSS racing type. After 6 months of usage, my absorber still in good shape and comfort.

      Recently I found Wave 125 installed with Kayaba too, try find it if you can.

      My buying option is simple, buy whatever I’m happy and confidence with. If I have doubt, no matter how good people says, I still unable to accept it fully. As for bike spare parts, quality and safety always my first priority. Happy Shopping!

  8. Hi guys,
    Im amazing how you all appreciate YSS absorber, for your info I had visited YSS,Gazi and Duro tyres factory etc.is Thailand for some project. All are located at Samutprakarn.

    Most street bike use YSS and Gazi for racing and high performance, Petronas Cup Prix teams mostly use Gazi.

    Actually Gazi was born after YSS which is founded by former YSS Director. I come to know this when meet Gazi Director during my special order of inverted front fork for super motard.

    So. you know what best fit for your motorcycle.

    If happen to Bangkok, do visit Rangsit Motorcycle Parts Market. everything is down there..

    Im from Penang. I can source what you need from Thailand

  9. Hi Riki Lee,

    Nice post you have there mate!
    I have recently swap my imitation kayaba batik with YSS Top-up (I dont know how to spot copy one in the first place!). I did some research as well and 80% otai-otai told YSS is the best to go. I changed mine for RM120 as well, somewhere around Sentul. What I can say is, I can fell A LOT of difference and YES, these beast built like a tank! it look nice paired with my EX5 too. All in all, 100% satisfied!

  10. what is the original stock size of shock of wave 125 from hole center top to hole center down is it 330mm or 340mm? So we can tell the shop.. tnx

Leave a Reply

