Motorbike (cub) tyre review: Dunlop, Michelin, Farelli, FKR, Duro

First of all, tyre (english) or tire (usa) and tayar are all the same 🙂

One of the scary word in motobikers’s dictionary is ‘puncture’ or ‘tayar pongcak’ 😛

Some experience motobiker carry spare tyre tube to be replaced during emergency. There are many mobile number printed at road divider especially in Klang Valley highways. I suspicious there is entrapment in those black zones since I seem many bikes puncture same time on the road. Usually this 24hours ‘highway rescue’ charge RM50 and replace a RM3 tube for the victim. At mid night they even ask for more. Some of them are not bike shop mechanic but just live near by and come to ‘cari makan’ (take advantage). Of course this RM3 tube only last you to nearest bike shop and get a quality replacement.

The safest way is to use tubeless tyre on your vehicle. Tubeless tyre tends to be harder and durable compare with tube-type tyre thus it helps combat sharp particles. Recently my tyre was punctured again after hit by nail. Luckily it was deflated after I reached home and I totally no aware about this until next morning. I was ride to bike shop in puncture condition because tubeless tyre is hard. My favorites Farelli brand was not available and I try Duro for first time. My bike tyre change: Dunlop TT900 -> Michelin M45 -> Farelli F1800 -> FKR EPSILON HT200 -> Duro HF-918

Getting a good tyre is difficult for me since I am very relying on Internet research. There was lack of review and comparison for bike tyre even though biker community is huge in Malaysia. Perhaps most bikers don’t blog J I write a short sequel about my experience on those tyres.

Brand

Dunlop

Michelin

Model

T900

M45

Dry grip

Very Good

Good

Wet grip

Poor

Good

Design

Sport

Balance

Price Paid

Orignal with bike

RM48

Reason to change

Damaged after hitting pot hole.

Damaged after riding bumpy road with pillion.

Life span

10 months

11 months

Brand

Farelli

FKR

Model

F1800

Epsilon HT200

Dry grip

Very Good

Very Good

Wet grip

Very Good

Good

Design

Durable

Durable

Price Paid

RM55

RM48

Reason to change

Threads wear out.

Hit nail.

Life span

14 months

2 months

Brand Duro Fareli
Model HF-918
F900
Dry grip Very Good Good
Wet grip Good Good
Design Sport Sport
Price Paid RM60 RM70 (2009 March)
Reason to change Thread worn out. In use and testing.
Life span 18,000 km

From the list you knows how good Farelli has served me. It just not my experience but I bought Farelli after read from forums it performance and durability. Petro hikes so tyre price will be review again. That’s the sad thing.

14 thoughts on “Motorbike (cub) tyre review: Dunlop, Michelin, Farelli, FKR, Duro

  1. HiRiki,

    Your feedback is very useful and other biker’s before pruchasing tyres…

    Please post your updated feedback… Just bought T900 worth PH 1,100 or RM 80…

  2. nice bro..me also x farelli user…before lc 135 es..i use kriss gold edition..i been use farelli so long ..but now so hard to get the tyre…really wish know how to find it…me at kk sabah..

    1. Bro, the Farrelli company has been bankcrupt, that what my bike machanic told me due to unwelcome to the tyres…not so many buying them…i have use them….it blady good tyres….i stil keep finding them…

    1. I am on michelin m45 again. Just passed 10,000km and still looking good. Although this tyre is not tubeless (actually it is tube type), but it perform very well on dry road. I only pump air pressure till 230kpsi to maintain it in good shape.

  3. thanks for the info. just bought Duro RS (80/something2) front and Duro HF918 (110/70) for rear tyre. Still haven’t try it out but a bit worried about what people said about the HF918 (tend to be slippery during rain/wet road).

Leave a Reply

