Mission to Mt Rinjani

This is my first mountain expedition. Been thinking for quite some time why should I go challenge the rocky roads and jungles. I didn’t get a answer for that and my heart just telling me “Go!”. I keep my self alert for any upcoming mountain trip. Initially it was a Bromo trip, however the eruption has make our plan changed to Rinjani. Same time it has changed our life too.

As a noob and without training at all, the best I can bet is to equip myself like a pro.I bought a Lafuma hiking bag (Yay, I’m hiker now), Camelbak reservoir, hiking poles, marino socks, Powerbar, many snacks, borrow winter wear from brother… Wow! It sounds like a shopping phree beforehand.

The journey is to fly down to Denpasar Bali. Take a domestic flight to Mataram which located in Lombok island. Then stay a night at Sembalun Lawang before we step into Rinjani National Park in next morning. Just the transition from Kuala Lumpur till Sembalun Lawang has taken 14hours. That is the longest ride I ever had so far.

Mt. Agung view from flight

Mt. Rinjani view from flight

View from arrival hall to Mt Rinjani in twilight

View from arrival hall to Mt Rinjani in twilight

Mt Rinjani view from Mataram Airport

Mt Rinjani view from Mataram Airport

Leave a Reply

