Wheel Balancing, Brake Damaging

Through Internet research I found Kang Kang is quite a famous workshop in Jalan Ipoh. User comments their tyre balancing is cheap here. Since my bike handling has some vibration and wheel balancing will be my first step to improve the situation.

I arrived around 12.30pm during my lunch break. The shop is easy to find. During my arrival there were only few bikes. Later more big bikes come by to do minor repair and tyre change. The boss and crew shuffle around to fix difference bikes. I start questioning is there a VIP system run here? Notice those big bikes come for new tyre can jump queue.

I walk away to the nearby shop since it is too crowded, everybody is standing.  An uncle arrive 10 mins after me get nothing done on his bike. Upon the balancing done, I ride back to office and missed my lunch. The bike is more stable now but front braking become heavy vibrating and can’t be used at all.

I went to another bike shop for second check. The mechanic confirmed the front brake disc has damage; the braking force is uneven and causes the vibration. He says go back to the last shop who did your bikes. I dare not to. The replacement will cost about RM350. Because of RM50 wheel balancing now I have to spend RM350 to fix the mistake done by Kang Kang.

KK may still be the best place for tyre change but workmanship wise I am not agree.

this cbr1000 change to soft compound and cost about RM1000

this cbr1000 change to soft compound and cost about RM1000

my bike before the wheel balancing starts

my bike before the wheel balancing starts

Leave a Reply

