Adding Voltage Stabilizer to Sym T2

I used to have a voltage stabilizer in my Honda Wave 125 for testing. It is a Malaysia product, Zaptor Gold. After installing, the bike has more torque and less vibration. The obvious example is running up from Sungai Buloh to Bukit Lanjan at 100 km/h with 4th gear easily. Later the unit was removed from bike and put into my Proton Savvy.

Lately I keep on thinking how to improve my T2 performance without big modification. Then I recall the experience with voltage stabilizer. There are too many voltage stabilizer produtcs outhere, and imitations too. Lucky me saw in Muday a clearance new stock selling for RM 20. I think it is a no brainer. Should it is not working then just let it stay in my small bike.

The moment I bought it off the shop, I install it into my Honda Wave 125 immediately. On the way back home my girl friend ask me what I did to the bike, it is smoother and less vibration. A compliment come from the pillion. I cruise the bike at 100km/h easily on the way back home. Comparing the same journey early today, the engine is screaming when I force it to 100km/h with full throttle.

The confidence supports me to go back next day and buy another two units. Twenty ringgit is a steal for voltage stabilizer which works!

But the space underneath Sym T2 seat is too small. Actually it has no space available at all. I have to remove the voltage stabilizer metal case and expose the components. It sit just nice next to the fuse box. I think it is fine since the metal box is design for car engine bay which has higher temperature. Now the voltage stabilizer is sit under pillion seat which doesn’t has extreme temperature.

A short ride after installation… the jerking and vibration seems disappear a lot! Stay tune for more updates.

Voltage stabilizer in a box, cost RM20

Voltage stabilizer in a box, cost RM20

Comparing the size of voltage stabilizer with a pen

Comparing the size of voltage stabilizer with a pen

The metal box is small but Sym T2 underseat compartment is even smaller. I decide to remove the box in order it can fit it.

The metal box is small but Sym T2 underseat compartment is even smaller. I decide to remove the box in order it can fit it.

Simple circuit with a fuse. The capacitor farads is unknown and without label.

Simple circuit with a fuse. The capacitor farads is unknown and without label.

Leave a Reply

